Whats are the key takeaways of this section?what will you learn?

  • What is restricted mode

  • How to enable or disable restricted mode

This feature requires:

  • i3RDM apk v2.3.0 or higher to be installed on the device

  • i3Studio apk v1.1.0 or higher to be installed on the device

What is Restricted Mode

By enabling Restricted Mode users will no longer be able the Android settings on the device and can only start applications that are provided on the i3Launcher. When Restricted Mode is enabled, notifications will also be suppressed.

How to enable Restricted Mode

Restricted Mode can only be enable from within the i3RDM application.

It can be enabled in 3 different places:

Device detail page

In the “specs and actions” settings, click the button to enable restricted mode.

When enabling restricted mode for the first time you will be asked to set a PIN code. The PIN code will be stored on the device itself.

If restricted mode has already been applied in the past, the PIN code becomes optional. When you do not provide a new PIN code, the existing PIN code on the device will be re-used.

Devices or group overview page

On the device overview page, select at least one device in the list and click the shield icon.

You will then be presented with a dialog to enable or disable restricted mode.

By applying restricted mode to multiple devices any already stored PIN code will be overwritten by the newly chosen PIN code.

How to disable Restricted Mode

Restricted mode can be disabled from the i3RDM cloud application or on the device itself. When disabling restricted mode, the PIN code will be retained on the device.

Device detail page

If restricte mode is enabled, it can be disabled from the device detail page by clicking the action button.

Devices or group overview page

On the device overview page, select at least one device in the list and click the shield icon.

On the device

When trying to open the settings menu, you will be presented with a dialog to enter the PIN code.

When a correct PIN code is entered, the settings drawer menu will open. Every next time you want to access the menu, you will be asked to enter the PIN code.

Only when the option “Permanently disable restricted mode” is enabled, restricted mode will be disabled.